May 21, 2015: Objective-C, My New Obsession:

This last school year I took two semesters of Java programming from the local community college. I have discovered a new passion. I’ve been programming on Graphic User Interfaces (GUIs) since I joined a robotics team in 2009, but text based programming is a whole new world.

Ever since I started with Java, I’ve been wanting to get into app building, but recently I discovered that Apple apps are written with Objective-C. This means another programming language to learn, but the challenge is exciting. After finishing the Java classes out with A’s, I got the Big Nerd Ranch Objective-C Programming and have been devouring it’s contents in my free time. Computer programming has gone from being part of my school routine to being my hobby. Thankfully, Objective-C is similar to Java, so I hope to be writing my first app soon.

Leave a comment